Northwest Model United Nations believes that participation in Model United Nations is rewarding because of the skills and knowledge acquired through participation, and the personal growth and leadership development that occurs both during conferences and in preparations for conferences. No participant needs external recognition to achieve these gains. NWMUN does offer awards for delegates that help advance their country's policy farthest, and for delegations with consistently strong delegates across committees and countries assigned to them. However, we believe that awards should be viewed with appropriate perspective, understanding that they are of limited value in recognizing achievement or excellence, both for those who may be given awards and those who may not.

If there is any incorrect or incomplete information on this page, please let us know by emailing Thanks!

Delegation (Overall) Awards
Outstanding Delegation: California State University - Chico (Head Delegate: Garrison Boyd; Adviser: John Crosby)
Distinguished Delegation: Whitman College (Head Delegates: Katy Wills and Kyle Hendrix)

General Assembly Plenary
Outstanding Delegate: Jordan, represented by James Smith (California State University - Chico)
Distinguished Delegate: Russian Federation, represented by Larson Angelis (California State University - Chico)
Distinguished Delegate: United States, represented by Christoph Semken (University of British Columbia)
Distinguished Delegate: Mozambique, represented by Nick Hochfeld (Whitman College)
Distinguished Delegate: Nicaragua, represented by Olivia Barry (Whitman College)
Distinguished Delegate: Ethiopia, represented by Aaron Thao (California State University - Chico)
Position Paper Award: Libya, represented by Jenny Arevalo (California State University - Channel Islands)
Position Paper Award: Ethiopia, represented by Aaron Thao (California State University - Chico)
Position Paper Award: Cuba, represented by Gavin Keating (California State University - Chico)

United Nations Environment Programme
Outstanding Delegate: Indonesia, represented by Keira Alkema (Western Washington University)
Distinguished Delegate: Russian Federation, represented by Emily Grose (California State University - Chico)
Distinguished Delegate: Mauritania, represented by Bellevue College
Position Paper Award: Cuba, represented by Aislinn Martin (California State University - Chico)
Position Paper Award: Russian Federation, represented by Emily Grose (California State University - Chico)

Economic and Social Council
Outstanding Delegate: Pakistan, represented by Julian Hannush (University of Washington - Seattle)
Distinguished Delegate: Republic of Korea, represented by Jordan Silva (California State University - Chico)
Distinguished Delegate: Sweden, represented by Srinjoy Charkaborty (University of British Columbia)
Position Paper Award: Russian Federation, represented by Sadie Foster (California State University - Chico)
Position Paper Award: Cuba, represented by Tracy Dudick (California State University - Chico)

Security Council
Outstanding Delegate: Pakistan, represented by Tori Bishop (University of Washington - Seattle)
Distinguished Delegate: Luxembourg, represented by Dominic D'Angelo (Western Washington University)
Position Paper Award: Pakistan, represented by Tori Bishop (University of Washington - Seattle)

Reformed Security Council
Outstanding Delegate: Russian Federation, represented by Mallorie Hayes (California State University - Chico)
Distinguished Delegate: Japan, represented by Athen Nguyen (University of Washington - Seattle)
Position Paper Award: Cameroon, represented by Patia Wiebe-Wright (Western Washington University)

United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees - Executive Board
Outstanding Delegate: United States, represented by Stephanie Xu (University of British Columbia)
Distinguished Delegate: Russian Federation, represented by Michael Johnson (California State University - Chico)
Distinguished Delegate: Tanzania, represented by Luke Jones (Western Washington University)
Position Paper Award: Republic of Korea, represented by Megumi Kimuro (California State University - Chico)
Position Paper Award: Ethiopia, represented by Joseph Aceret (California State University - Chico)
Position Paper Award: Kiribati, represented by Sarah Hansen (University of Washington - Seattle)